doin' it wrong and having it taste good anyway.

Crockpot Chicken Adobo

In chicken on August 13, 2009 at 12:45 am

adobo

I spent about 6 of my formative years in the Philippines and didn’t quite “fall in love” with the food quite as much as I merely integrated it into my life. When I moved away, I was saddened to realize that good chicken adobo was just not something that just appeared on the dinner table while visiting friends.

I still get some adobo, of course, although my current source for delicious, homemade chicken adobo happens to live in DC.

I don’t quite have the patience to prepare it the correct way, which I think involves dousing your kitchen in oil, but I was more than willing to give the crockpot version a shot.

The recipe is based on this one at “A Year of Slow Cooking”, but I ended up using a 1/2 cup of soy sauce and threw some carrots and potatoes and ginger in.

  • about 4 pounds of chicken. I used a chicken breast, and four legs and thighs.
  • 1/2 cups soy sauce
  • 1/2 cups apple cider vinegar
  • 1 large carrot – chopped in chunks.
  • 4-5 large cloves of garlic.
  • 1tbsp salt
  • 1tbsp pepper
  • 1 yellow onion, sliced in rings.
  • 3-4 bay leaves.
  • about an inch of ginger root, sliced thinly
  • a potato, cut in chunks.

I threw everything in my crockpot to marinade overnight. “Throw it in” is a technical term in crockpotting. Or it should be. I set my crockpot on “low” before leaving to work the next day. It cooked for approximately 9 hours.

The chicken breast ended up tasting kind of grainy and overcooked, but the thighs and legs were fall-off-the-bone-tender and delicious. I’d probably suggest sticking to the dark meat parts of the chicken.

The “sauce” is amazing on rice.

It’s still not chicken adobo done the “right” way, but it does approximate the flavour enough to satisfy my yearning.

Oh, it can feed about 8.

  1. I was one of the 8 that shing fed her delicious chicken adobo to. It was good! I grew up in the Philippines so I’ve had my share of adobo’s. Did I mention I hate vinegar? But shing’s adobo sauce wasn’t vinegary, it was spot on.

  2. Hi !

    This looks really yummy!

    I’m compiling a list of all the different ways to cook adobo in a quest to find what a true filipino adobo is today, and I’m happy to include your adobo recipe in my article at http://kumain.com/1001-adobo-recipes/. I hope you don’t mind the link from my site to yours =)

    Keep in touch!

  3. […] Shing Can Cook: Crockpot Chicken Adobo […]

Leave a Reply

