doin' it wrong and having it taste good anyway.

Rice Porridge

In chicken, rice on August 13, 2009 at 6:53 pm

porridge

My favourite sick person food is porridge. That’s not really giving it enough credit because it’s also a breakfast food(or lunch…or dinner), a 5 minute prep food, a “I’m really broke this week” food and a “what do I do with the rest of this rotisserie chicken” food.

The nature of my gastronomical upbringing has for the most part, been very rice-centric. When I lived in Malaysia, we ate a lot of rice congee. Simple, slightly chicken flavoured. I remember always picking the green onion bits out. That was probably the Chinese version(one of many Chinese variants). We also ate plenty of the Malay variant, called bubur ayam (Malay vocabulary lesson for the day. “bubur” is porridge. “ayam” is chicken. Woo.)

When we moved to the Philippines, there was arroz caldo and lugau, both fairly similar to each other.  This dish is probably when I fell in love with having ginger in my food.

In college, my first college roommate also made congee, usually with ginseng and fish, and it was the delicious homesick college student food in the world(the next time I went home, my mom sent a ziploc bag of ginseng and a rice cooker back with me).

This recipe below, however, is none of the above. I’ll cook those someday and pass my learned wisdom on, but for now, you’ll have to settle with my five minute cheap and easy porridge. It’s delicious, I swear.

Ready?

  • One cup rice.
  • Four cups water.
  • One can of chicken broth.

Put it all in your rice cooker, on the porridge setting. Cook. If you don’t have a rice cooker, just boil it intil the rice is tender. Yes, it’s really that easy.

Feel free to add things to it like

  • sliced ginger
  • carrots
  • your leftover rotisserie chicken(the oils in it makes it pretty tasty). Also, just chunks of chicken is good too.
  • tomatoes
  • onions

I like garnishes like

  • spring onions/scallions(I like them now)
  • sesame seeds
  • a tiny bit of sesame oil
  • soy sauce
  • fried onions.
  • hot chili oil
  • more sliced fresh ginger

It feeds…eight? If you need to cook less, just use a one part rice, five part liquid rule of thumb.  If you want it soupier, add more water.

Leave a Reply

